Red Bull
Air Race
Race results / championship standings Pilots and aircraft Lausitzring
2016 slideshow
2014 slideshow
RBAR links Red Bull

Last update:
18 October 2016

Red Bull Air Race

Race results and championship standings

2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003

Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2016 – Race calendar

Race calendar: The 2016 Red Bull Air Race World Championship will span eight races on three continents with 14 pilots ("Master Class") competing. Master Class pilots comprise Hannes Arch (AUT), Kirby Chambliss (USA), Matthias Dolderer (GER), Michael Goulian (USA), Matt Hall (AUS), Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA), Nigel Lamb (UK), François Le Vot (FRA), Pete McLeod (CAN), Yoshihide Muroya (JPN), Martin Šonka (CZE), Juan Velarde (SPA), as well as Petr Kopfstein (CZE) and Peter Podlunšek (SLO) progressing from the Challenger Cup. The Challenger Cup will see eight pilots flying the official race circuits on race day prior to the first round of the Master Class competition. The Challenger pilots comprise Cristian Bolton (CHI), Daniel Ryfa (SWE), Francis Barros (BRA) and Florian Bergér (GER). The three rookies Mélanie Astles (FRA), Kevin Coleman (USA) and Ben Murphy (UK), and returning Luke Czepiela (POL) will complete the line-up.
Red Bull will again provide standardised Extra EA-330LX planes for the Challenger Cup. The six pilots with the best scores from three races will be invited to the season final.
Race format: Fastest time from two qualification runs defines ranking for race day. Seven winners of head-to-head races in the Round of 14 proceed to the next stage, plus the fastest loser. The Round of 8 again sees heats with the pilots being reseeded based on the times they clocked in the Round of 14. The fastest from the previous round races against the slowest, and so on. The four winners proceed to the Final 4 where they race against the clock. However, if both pilots in a heat do not post a valid time, another lucky loser will proceed to the next round based on clocked time. This rule change applies to Round of 14 as well as Round of 8. The Challenger Class race will take place before the Round of 14 contest.
Standard engines (Lycoming Thunderbolt AEIO-540-EXP), propellers (Hartzell composite 3-blade "The Claw") and exhaust systems to be employed by all pilots.
Pylons (air gates) are kept 25 m high for safety reasons. Knife edge flying through gates and the quadro gate remain removed from the race format.
Amended scoring: The winner on race day gets 15 points, the second 12 points, the third 9 points, the fourth 6 points, the fifth 5 points, down to one point for ninth place. However, every pilot collecting a DQ in any round will receive no points at all.
Penalties: 3 seconds each for the first two pylon hits in a run; 2 seconds for flying too high, as well as incorrect level flying; 1 second for missing smoke, for entry speed between 201 kn (372.3 km/h) and 201.99 kn (374.1 km/h), as well as for operational violations specific to a given race track. Pulling more than 10 g for more than 0.6 seconds (indicated via telemetry or post-flight analysis) will result in a DNF.
Note. The general entry speed limit of 200 kn (370.4 km/h) had been reduced by the race committee to 180 kn (333.4 km/h) for the Master Class race in Abu Dhabi.
Disqualification (DQ): Uncontrolled flying (e.g. closer than 10 m to the ground), third pylon hit in a run, crossing the safety line, pulling more than 12 g (indicated via telemetry or post-flight analysis), entry speed above 202 kn (374.1 km/h), engine RPM above limit (indicated via post-flight analysis), as well as missing the post-flight minimum weight of 698 kg (with a tolerance of -5 kg).
  Location Country Date flown Winner Aircraft Winner
        over Master Class   Challenger Class
[67] Abu Dhabi, Corniche United Arab Emirates 11-12 March 2016 water Nicolas Ivanoff  France Zivko Edge 540 V2 Daniel Ryfa  Sweden
[68] Spielberg, Red Bull Ring Austria 23-24 April 2016 land Matthias Dolderer  Germany Zivko Edge 540 V3 Florian Bergér  Germany
[69] Chiba, Makuhari Beach (Tokyo Bay) Japan 04-05 June 2016 water Yoshi Muroya  Japan Zivko Edge 540 V3 Cristian Bolton  Chile
[70] Budapest, Danube river Hungary 16-17 July 2016 water Matthias Dolderer  Germany Zivko Edge 540 V3 Daniel Ryfa  Sweden *
[71] Ascot, Ascot Racecourse United Kingdom 13-14 August 2016 land Matt Hall  Australia MXS-R Kevin Coleman  USA
[72] Lausitz, EuroSpeedway Germany 03-04 September 2016 land Matt Hall  Australia MXS-R Florian Bergér  Germany
[73] Indianapolis, Indianapolis Motor Speedway United States of America 01-02 October 2016 land Matthias Dolderer  Germany Zivko Edge 540 V3 Luke Czepiela  Poland
[74] Las Vegas, Las Vegas Motor Speedway United States of America 15-16 October 2016 land (All competitions had to be cancelled due to winds exceeding 30 kn / 55 km/h)
 * Rescheduled race which took place on 03-Sep-2016 at Lausitzring in compensation for Budapest race which had to be cancelled due to adverse weather

Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2016 – Final Standings
Rank Pilot Aircraft Races won Total points*
1 Matthias Dolderer  Germany GER Zivko Edge 540 V3 3 80.25
2 Matt Hall  Australia AUS MXS-R 2 55.75
3 Hannes Arch  Austria AUT Zivko Edge 540 V3   41
4 Nigel Lamb  United Kingdom UK MXS-R   37.75
5 Nicolas Ivanoff  France FRA Zivko Edge 540 V2 1 35
6 Yoshi Muroya  Japan JPN Zivko Edge 540 V3 1 31.50
7 Pete McLeod  Canada CAN Zivko Edge 540 V3   30.50
8 Kirby Chambliss  USA USA Zivko Edge 540 V3   30.25
9 Martin Šonka  Czech Republic CZE Zivko Edge 540 V3   25
10 Mike Goulian  USA USA Zivko Edge 540 V2   19.75
11 Juan Velarde  Spain ESP Zivko Edge 540 V2   14.25
12 François Le Vot  France FRA Zivko Edge 540 V2   10
13 Peter Podlunšek  Slovenia SLO  Zivko Edge 540 V2   4
14 Petr Kopfstein  Czech Republic CZE  Zivko Edge 540 V3   4
15 Cristian Bolton  Chile CHI** Zivko Edge 540 V2   0
 * Round of 8 result counted for Budapest race (i.e. only 75% of available points)
** Cristian Bolton joined as official stand-by-pilot for the last two races following Hannes Arch's death on 8-Sep-2016

RBAR Challenger Cup 2016 – Final Standings*
Rank Pilot Races won Total points Season
        index** ranking
1 Florian Bergér  Germany GER  2 28 0.76 1
2 Daniel Ryfa  Sweden SWE  2 26 0.64 2
3 Kevin Coleman  USA USA  1 26 0.63 3
4 Luke Czepiela  Poland POL  1 24 0.64 4
5 Ben Murphy  United Kingdom UK    20 0.43 6
6 Mélanie Astles  France FRA    16 0.33 7
7 Francis Barros  Brazil BRA    2 0.07 8
Cristian Bolton  Chile CHI*** 1 20 0.50 5
  * Best of three season races determined the top 6 pilots qualifying for the CC title race in Las Vegas
 ** Percentage of points won from all attended races until season final (performance index)
*** Moved up to Master Class for last two races